Management Structure

The Management and Governance Structure of Mace


The Board


A voluntary Management Committee (Board) is elected each year at the Annual General Meeting (AGM), which is responsible for overall supervision, the direction of the organisation and the maintenance of management standards, as ascribed in the Co-op’s Governance rules. The Board is made up of a maximum of 15 and a minimum of 7 members.


Organisational Structure


In addition to the Management Committee, there are 7 Sub-committees that are responsible for overseeing the strategic functional areas of the Co-op under the delegated authority of the Board.


Any member of the Co-op can join the Sub-committees, which are: Allocations, Property development, Employment, Repairs & Maintenance, Publicity, Disputes, Rent & Finance.


Each of the Sub-Committees is chaired by a member of the Management Board. The Committees report to the Board.


The Sub-Committees


See the Organisational Chart for the details of the 7 Sub-Committees and their functions, under delegated authority of the Board.

The Executive Management Team


The Co-op went further to create an independent Executive Management Team, led by the Chief Executive, supported by the Director of Operations, other functional Managers and staff. This was done to shake off the negative image that Housing Co-operatives had at the time. The introduction of a professional Executive management team at the helms of Operations, helped Mace to grow from strength to strength, whilst several Housing Co-operatives closed their operations.


The Executive Management Team is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Co-op under the delegated authority of the Board and reports to it on a monthly basis.